I don’t think we should have to side hustle

Caroline Egan
4 min readSep 20, 2023
Photo by Dan Freeman on Unsplash

I’ve had a renewed interest in Medium recently, and have been trying my best to participate as much in the space as I can. One thing that has struck me in the last few months is the amount of articles about extra earners and how to make money.

Now, I know money is great and we all need it, but I didn’t realise how pervasive ‘hustle culture,’ in particular ‘side hustle culture’ is. Now perhaps, this is more a phenomenon in the US, (and I’m based in Europe), but it got me thinking about how many of us literally need other jobs to survive. I mean I’m bombarded with articles that obviously claim to solve an issue that many people feel, right? Plenty of authors on this site cater for an audience and tailor their content to suit what people read so this must mean that plenty of people have a need for an extra income.

When you think about it is just a bit nuts.

Not only now do we need to go to our day jobs that we probably aren’t crazy about, but now we need to slot in extra work between these slogs to hand over the majority of our dough to other people for overinflated essentials. Plenty of people are simply trying not to be poor and keep their heads above water and fill nearly every living moment with work.

Now I know not everyone has a side hustle to survive, but there definitely is a panic…

--

--

Caroline Egan

Nerdy, freelance writer, feminist, horror/sci-fi enthusiast, mother, big child. Support me and become a member here: https://eganc3.medium.com/membership